Sibayak Geothermal Power Plant

PLTP SibayakSibayak Area is located in Brastagi Regency, North Sumatra. The current total installed capacity of the PLTP is 12 MW consisting of 1 Unit of Monoblock of 2 MW and 2 Units of PLTP of 2x5MW constituting ESC (Energy Sales Contract) with PT PLN, meanwhile 10 MW constitutes SSC (Steam Sales Contract) with PT Dizamatra Powerindo. The project was inaugurated by President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono on December 11, 2007 simultaneously with the inauguration of PLTP Kamojang Unit 4 and Lahendong Unit 2.

This power plant is the first geothermal power plants on the island of Sumatera. Taking the heat of the earth from Mount Sibayak, the electricity from the plant was sold to PT PLN (Persero) to illuminate the province of North Sumatra and surrounding areas. 

Geothermal potential of Mount Sibayak is enough and safe for the environment. It’s safe from catastrophic volcanic eruptions as Sibayak mountain is not expected to erupt again.

With a height of 1358 m above sea level, located 70 km from Medan City and 7 Km from Berastagi town tourism, this geothermal power plant is one of three geothermal power plants managed by PT PGE than Kamojang (West Java) and Lahendong (North Sulawesi). PT PGE is a subsidiary of PT Pertamina (Persero) which is engaged in the management of geothermal energy.